@MayoCenter Tops Nation

LHAT President Ken Stein is flanked by MPAC CEO Allison Larena and GM Ed Kirchdoerffer. Photo courtesy of MPAC

MPAC Wins 2016 Outstanding Historic Theatre Award

The Mayo Performing Arts Center has been named 2016 Outstanding Historic Theatre by The League of Historic American Theatres (LHAT).

Allison Larena, president and CEO, and Ed Kirchdoerffer, general manager, accepted the award at LHAT’s annual conference on Sunday, July 17, 2016, in Chicago. The conference is the largest gathering of historic theater professionals in North America.

“It is an honor to be recognized by a distinguished group of peers who work to make historic theatres vital economic engines, community gathering places, and arts and educational centers in the towns we serve,” Larena said.

LHAT’s Awards Program inspires excellence by recognizing theaters and individuals for their significant accomplishments or distinguished service. The Outstanding Historic Theatre Award recognizes a theater that demonstrates excellence through its community impact, quality of programs and services, and quality of the restoration or rehabilitation of its historic structure.

An award-winning theater will have demonstrated excellence through significant achievement, the impact of its services and breadth of populations served, and the length of time and/or intensity of its activities.

Each year, one theater and one individual are honored by LHAT at its annual conference. Former winners include the Fabulous Fox in Atlanta, New York City Center and Playhouse Square in Cleveland.

“Mayo Performing Arts Center beat out an impressive list of nominees to claim this award this year,” said Ken Stein, LHAT President and CEO.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s